This path is a pleasant walk that can be interesting even in the evening, when not all buildings can be visited. You walk through the heart of the city in an almost completely pedestrian area, where, in addition to the architectural beauties, there are shops and restaurants, taverns where you can sip the excellent local DOC wines and the cafes that, in the summer, bring their outdoor tables.
It starts from the historic square surrounded by arcades: Piazza dei Signori ; theater, on weekdays, of a very lively market and on warm evenings, a meeting point for an aperitif. Leaving the Clock behind us, on the right we find the unmistakable colonnade of the Loggia della Gran Guardia. Continuing on the same side of the square, we take the street next to the Church of S. Clemente and we find ourselves in front of the west side of the Palazzo della Ragione , which we will see in all its splendor once we enter Piazza delle Erbe , where, since the Middle Ages, every morning, fruit and vegetable vendors call buyers with typical squeals:"Dòne, stuff bóna!" , "Treviso, Chioggia, Verona and Castelfranco!" , alluding to the various types of red radicchio in winter, "Pèrseghi e àmoi" if we are in summer and the counter offers peaches and yellow plums.
The market continues under the Salone , that is, under the arches that support the huge vaulted hall of the Palazzo della Ragione . The counters of the Salone have been the same since the 16th century and the quality of the products offered makes the passage for this delightful shopping center for fine palates, a must-see being, among other things, the oldest covered market in Europe.
Satisfied the senses, we pass in Piazza della Frutta where the market continues and from there, leaving the Palazzo della Ragion and behind us, we turn right and take Via Oberdan which will take us to Listón, the shopping and meeting area all the Padovans. On our right we can see the Palazzo degli Anziani , the oldest nucleus of the municipal buildings, erected in 1285 and enlarged in 1523, with the portico decorated with the podestà's coats of arms, the Palazzo is dominated by the Tower, built in 1296 and lowered in 1939. In medieval and Renaissance times the city had many towers, which once dominated it, as demonstrated, for example, by the fresco in the Belludi Chapel of theBasilica of the Saint .
We arrive at Palazzo Moroni , seat of the Municipality. Exactly in front of the Palazzo del Bò , historical seat of the University. On the left, however, the famous "coffee without doors", the Pedrocchi , the theater of so much of the most recent Paduan life and where to enjoy a tasty break, surrounded by the beauty of one of the very few monumental cafes left.
Still following the Listón , Piazza Cavour opens on our right, with the Civic Gallery . In front of Piazza Cavour, on the left side of the Listón, we take Via S. Andrea, which leads us to the homonymous Church of S. Andrea in front of which we find the " Colonna della Gatta", with one of the famous Cats, on which many stories are told: those who consider them a mockery of the Venetian mania of disseminating lions everywhere, those of war trophies.
Continuing along Via S. Andrea, we arrive at the "Santa Lucia District " and the House of Ezzelino , which was the residence of Ezzelino III da Romano, vicar of Federico II, whose dynasty bloody dominated Central Veneto in the XII century. The building is an example of what was once the Santa Lucia district, which grew in the Middle Ages, before the deterioration and demolition in the Fascist era, to make way for the construction of Piazza Insurrezione , the palaces of the Stock Exchange, the Chamber of Commerce and the surrounding area. Passing under the arch of the Palace, we enter Via S. Lucia, we turn left and on the right we meet the Oratorio di San Rocco and the church from which the street takes its name.
Continuing along the street, we cross Via Dante and take the narrow lane that leads us to the Church of S. Nicolò , with its characteristic square. With our back to the church we can already glimpse the Verdi Theater , the work of Jappelli, born at the end of the 18th century, in the midst of Italy's passion for melodrama.
Turning right on Corso Milano and we return to Via Dante. We take it on the left, towards Porta Molino . In the Carrarese era the stables of the Royal Palace were located here. Until the early 1900s it was called Strà Maggiore , due to the beauty of the buildings and because it has always been one of the cornerstones of the city, the one that led from north to south. Along the way we can still see some of the buildings that earned it its fame: a house from 1383, on the right a palace from 1793 with its tower which has remained intact since the Middle Ages: the probable dating back to 1100 the mains the oldest tower of the city.
On the left you cross the Church of S. Agnese. Deconsecrated in the late 1920s, it dates back to the 12th century. The round bell tower that stands on the left side of the church is Romanesque and one of the oldest in the city, the portal is from the 16th century, while the friezes that adorn it inside are from the 15th century. Now the building is a garage. The area of via S. Agnese was known for closed houses, hence the expression "go to S. Agnese".
Still on the right the casino Fasolo precedes the fourteenth-sixteenth century Palazzo Cittadella-Vigodarzere, which belonged to one of the most powerful families in the city.
We arrive at the Porta and Ponte Molino , after which we arrive at Piazza Petrarca where the Basilica of the Madonna del Carmine towers .
From here it is easy to reach the car parks using the Direct Piazze bus from the stops in Via Dante or retracing the road to the starting point in Piazza dei Signori.